Trust30: “One Sentence”

Forget-me-not flowers.

Image via Wikipedia

Domino Project/#Trust30 Project Prompt #2: “One Sentence” by Liz Danzico

Your genuine action will explain itself, and will explain your other genuine actions. Your conformity explains nothing. The force of character is cumulative. – Ralph Waldo Emerson, Self-Reliance

If ‘the voyage of the best ship is a zigzag line of a hundred tacks,’ then it is more genuine to be present today than to recount yesterdays. How would you describe today using only one sentence? Tell today’s sentence to one other person. Repeat each day.

“These are the days you will remember for the rest of your life.”

Now, I have to admit, I stole that from Jo Dee Messina‘s song “These are the Days,” but it does sum things up.

Give that song a listen some time. In it, she sings about the faucet leaking, the TV not working, and having about $100 to her name. Life’s not perfect, but you can still live it.

The next part of the song says, “These are the memories you’ll pack in a box, and you’ll pull out sometimes. So pick your flowers, count the seconds and roll the dice, but don’t wait until it’s too late. Put a smile on  your face. These are the days!”

Often we remember details of really BIG events: weddings, birthdays, births, special vacations, first goodbyes. But what do we remember about every day?

I think mostly I remember feelings. Did I feel good? Happy? Content? Giddy? Thankful? Or did I feel angry? Sad? Disappointed? Afraid? Selfish?

When we can’t remember specifics, when we can’t remember what we ate for breakfast that morning, or how long it’s been since you talked to someone, we will remember how we feel.

We can choose to feel happy and to live with gratitude in spite of circumstances. As I get older, I am amazed at the simple things that make me laugh or brighten my world. And I count the people in my life as blessings. I’ve been “changed for good.”

2 thoughts on “Trust30: “One Sentence”

  1. Elizabeth I think my memories are interwoven with my garden and all that blooms and all who visit there..these memories serve me for life and I cherish them, learn from them…

What do you think?

