Around and around the Web we go…

Books on a bookshelf.

Image via Wikipedia

Sometimes social media is a pain, and sometimes you find really cool stuff.  Follow this if you can. It’s the story of how you can connect perimenopause with awesome via modern technology.

On Facebook, I follow Shmirshky, which is dedicated to removing the stigma and frustration of perimenopause and menopause (aka: pm&m) through matter-of-fact discussion and a whole lotta humor…because, let’s face it, if we can’t laugh, we’ll scream or cry or eat ten pounds of chocolate, depending on the day. Recently, Shmirshky the Book hit the stores (behold the power of blog-to-book) and now, it’s made the Top 20 Spring Reads List for The Next Chapter Books in Iowa.

I love books, I love reading, and I love that endangered species known as the Indie Bookstore. So, if I could hug The Next Chapter, I would. You’re beautiful.  And their Top 20 Spring Reads list has something for everyone, from Mark Twain’s autobiography to Elizabeth Gilbert’s Committed to a fabulous little book called The Book of Awesome by Neil Pasricha (and who couldn’t use a little awesome now and then?).

I know, I know. There are plenty of Top Whatever lists out there and plenty of books, but sometimes I marvel at how the right information pops up at the right time in places you didn’t expect it to. While it’s easy to get completely lost digging through the completely pointless on the internet, sometimes you do strike gold. It’s little stuff like this that makes me smile.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have some reading to do!

One thought on “Around and around the Web we go…

  1. thenextchapterbooks says:

    Thanks for checking out our Top 20 List, and for the kind words! If you’re ever in Knoxville, Iowa, stop in!

What do you think?

