What a rush!

The Top Thrill Dragster roller coaster at Ceda...

Image via Wikipedia

Take an exquisite dream, throw in peppermint mocha coffee on waking, the right music, and about two hours all to myself and I have literary progress!

Are you a writer? A musician? A visual artist? How many times have you felt petulant toward your fickle muse? I said to my friend and fellow writer Diana Mylek this week, “My muse ran off with another writer.” I might have to take that back after this morning. My muse came back and totally swept me off my feet.

I’d attempted NaNoWriMo in November 2010 – I’ve participated on and off for several years – and I quickly realized my story idea didn’t have enough legs to make it as a novel. Short story? Perhaps. So I saved the very rough draft and promised myself I wouldn’t stew about it too much.

Early this morning, I had a dream that lit the blow torch of creativity. The dream was short, and exquisite in its simplicity. And as soon as I threw the kids out the door for school, I got my cup of coffee, put Howie Day and Chris Rice on “loop” on iTunes, and wrote.

I didn’t just want to write the story. I needed to write it. And when I felt it was done, I had such an adrenaline rush going I was shaking. Like I’d just staggered off the Top Thrill Dragster at Cedar Point. Legs, gelatinous. Hands, vibrating. Moments like that have been rare in my writing life, but it was astonishing in its intensity.

Just 506 words…alive with color, smell, texture and temperature. Same main characters from November. Brand new energy and perspective. This is a day to thank God for every book I’ve ever read, every teacher who’d ever encouraged me, and every event or person – good, bad, and ugly – who has provided “inspiration” (also known as “material”).  In this case, the inspiration was very good, and very beautiful.

There are writers who swear up and down that the secret to success is sitting down and writing, every day, whether you like it or not. Whether you feel like it or not. Well, I DO write every day. From news releases to blog entries, prayers to personal essays. The thing is, my brain doesn’t latch onto any one thing in particular. The subject and the substance and the words come when they are damn good and ready. Sometimes, it’s frustrating (or flat-out depressing).

Sometimes, like today, it rocks.  Can we go again?

7 thoughts on “What a rush!

  1. Hi Elizabeth, Isadora shared your blog site address with me. It’s Gayle/Bodhirose from our writing group on Beliefnet.com. I started a blog on here late last August. Also, joined a poetry writing group which has brought much more traffic to my site and I’ve met some incredibly wonderful, supportive people. And I guess more importantly, I’m enjoying myself.

    You seem to have some really positive energy going on lately–so happy for you.

    I would love to hear from you.

    Gayle xoxo

  2. This was so energized and happy I could feel it. You sounded so inspired and ready to go. I think this is going to be the beginning of many more chapters for your book. This was a fantastic postings. ~~~~ : – )
    Hi Elizabeth – it’s Isadora. I have started a blog. I have no idea where I am going but it’s a start. Here is my blog – insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com

    • Isadora!! Hello, my friend! It’s so nice to hear from you! I can’t wait to check out your new blog! I think as you work on the blog, you’ll gravitate toward specific things. If it’s in your voice, and it’s your Truth, it’ll be a thing of beauty!

      The inspiration caught me completely by surprise but I wouldn’t mind having a double shot of that a few times a month. 😉

  3. Thanks for sharing your experience with us! And I believe it is the “writing every day” that brings on the seemingly sudden rushes of inspiration. It’s as if we have to clear the cobwebs from around our muse and dust her off a bit and then she really shines!

    • Hi, Cindy! Thank you for dropping by!

      This event did change my perception of “writing every day.” I truly think that for some writers it means “working on the same project every day” as if getting in a regular workout. But I think in my case it means “keep the fingers moving and the brain engaged whether journaling, writing for business or volunteer work, or helping your characters get where they want to go.”

What do you think?

