Life is a Song

In this case, the song is “This is the Stuff” by Francesca Battistelli.

My Monday started off half asleep. I drove my 15-year-old to school at 7:25 a.m.  I drove home the same way I always do…through a neighborhood behind the local park, which is easier than dealing with the morning backups on the main streets.

Visions of coffee cups dancing through my head overrode the brain’s message to stop at the first stop sign. So I didn’t. My actions didn’t go unnoticed by the local police, who let me know with flashing red and blue lights.

Silver lining: I didn’t blow through the sign doing 45 in a 35…or 25, as the case may be.

The officer said, “You failed to stop at the stop sign back there, ma’am.”

Ouch. Ma’am.

“May I see your license and proof of insurance?” I dutifully fished them out of my wallet, apologizing for my oversight.

He called it in, then returned to the car. “Can I see the registration?”

Uh. Okay.  I fished it out of the glove compartment only to find it was the registration for the car I’d traded in in December to acquire the car I was driving.

The plates on the car were for the old car.

Oh, snap. Guess what I didn’t do. Transfer the plates and update the registration.

“You know you have 30 days to complete the transfer, right?  When did  you buy the car?” The week before Christmas. Double-snap. I was way past 30 days.

He returned to his patrol car, and I figured I’d need a second mortgage to pay the ticket that was coming. I felt humiliated and stupid. Mentally, I berated myself because “I’m smarter than this”. The officer was just doing his job – he was polite and nonjudgmental – but I wanted to disappear into the leather seats.

I glanced up through the moon roof and said, “I’d appreciate a little mercy, please.” There was no reason I deserved it, but I asked.

The officer returned and handed me a pink slip of paper. “I’m giving you a warning but you need to get the plates transferred over. I know there’s a license bureau across the street from your house, so I hope you get this taken care of in the next day or two.”

Now before you think I’m being stalked, I should point out that A) our town is not all that large; B) the police park daily in the vacant lot across the street from my house and wait for people to roll through the signs at the three-way stop (or blow through them all together, especially at night); and C) I don’t have the most inconspicuous car on the planet.  I drove a white Corolla for about ten years. I now have a cobalt blue PT Cruiser with an iridescent flame job.  I wouldn’t be the least bit surprised if the same officer has seen me pull in and out of my driveway at various times of the day while on intersection duty.  And yes, there’s a BMV across the street too.

So I was let go with a warning, but I couldn’t let go of feeling stupid. I felt like it was one more indicator of things that I simply couldn’t do right. I should know better.

When I walked over to the BMV later to remedy the situation, I had to do it not once, but twice because I forgot the memorandum of title on the new car. In my defense, I have never transferred plates before. I’ve always purchased cars under duress – meaning someone totaled my vehicle, or it gave up the ghost due to age, something like that. But again, I felt stupid. Like I should know this stuff.  I walked back to the house to retrieve the missing document, eyes stinging with humiliation…

…that was of my own making. Both the situation, and my reaction to it. Yet, no one had berated me. I was my own worst judge in this case. Everyone was very kind. The woman at the BMV was cheerful and understanding.

So why am I displaying my embarrassment on the internet?

God is good at mercy. Other people can be good at mercy too. Sometimes we can’t cut ourselves a break, and sometimes we’re so caught up in our little messes and stresses, it’s easy to forget how big we’re blessed. And it’s a good reminder to show mercy to others when we have the chance.

And this is the stuff He uses to get our attention. With red and blue flashing lights.

About Elizabeth

Professional editor, writer, consultant, speaker...teacher, parent, volunteer...those are all the practical titles! Primarily I'm a person who believes in living optimistically and keeping my eyes open for everyday miracles. I love reading and writing, singing along with my iPod, random dancing, gardening, making people feel welcome, and shining lights in dark places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Life is a Song

  1. This whole post made me smile (well, except that you got pulled over in the first place and then beat yourself up for days)…and loved the catchy tune too!! And you are hardly the first person to have forgotten to square things with the BMV (or DMV as they call it here in CT). :::ahem:::

  2. snagglewordz says:

    Oh, poor you! I think the best friend rule applies here. If your best friend told you this story, how would you react? Did you treat yourself in the same way? We’re always hardest on ourselves!

    I really enjoyed the song. :)

    • Elizabeth says:

      It was a rocky start to a rocky week, my friend. But a lot of things became clearer today…not easier, but clearer! And I’m driving my hot rod like a little ol’ lady from Pasedena right now. It’s tragic! lol

      Glad you liked it. Sometimes other people (musicians in particular) can “say it” better than I can!

  3. elizena says:

    Love the song and I loved this post. It’s so true that God uses the little things to grab our attention, but when He does it’s only to help His silly, wayward kids get back on track again. We’re lucky to have such a loving Daddy. Blessings.

    http://elizena-lovingmycreator.blogspot.com

  4. Kathy says:

    Great perspective, Liz … As always. Made me smile, too! (it’s DMV in MD)

  5. Catherine says:

    As always, perfectly timed words for my own personal tasks at hand!!! Thank you again. XO

  6. eof737 says:

    Yep. God is good all the time. :-)

  7. edebock says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day! I enjoy your blog and have just nominated you for The Versatile Blogger award.

    See http://edebock.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/im-honoured/

  8. You made a truly painful situation humorous. It does happen to us from time to time. I cried like a baby when I was stopped, for the first and only time, for turning from one lane to another through a solid line. I received a warning too. Just watching the looks on the other drivers passing us by was overwhelming. I felt like a #1 criminal was caught. Can you imagine going home and explaining that to my NYPD husband???? ~~~~~ : – O
    I’m behind but stories are never too old to read.
    Great one, Elizabeth.
    Blessings,
    Isadora

Leave a Reply

